Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Although the author attempts to explain the reasoning behind the phenomenon of fake Palean baskets, many assumptions and hole in the argument weaken the author’s reasoning but could be fixed with the addition of further details.

The author first argues that the baskets had previously only been discovered in the immediate area of the prehistoric Palea area; they, however, do not give any measurements describing this immediate. Such lack of description of this area could very well allow for the baskets to be present in the Lithos village area, undermining the argument that the discovery of the baskets in the Lithos village area is a new, novel discovery. Evidence that this immediate area does not include the Lithos village area would strengthen the assertion that discovery of the baskets is unprecedented. The author also assumes that the presence of the baskets in the Palean area automatically indicates that the baskets were made by the Palean people. The baskets, however, could have been present in the area before or after the Palean people lived there and may not necessarily be made by the Palean people. The author could bolster this assertion by providing evidence such as carbon dating or historical records that the Palean people did indeed build the baskets found and have more evidence than the coincidence that both the Palean people and the baskets were in the same place.

The author continues to explain that Palean people could not have crossed the Brim River without boats but makes many generalizations while doing so. The author only describes the river as very deep and broad but provides no evidence that the river would in fact not be crossable without the assistance of a boat. If the author were able to provide statistics about the river, such as the depth and breadth as well as comparisons to other water systems, they would be able to confidently assert that the Palean people would not have been able to cross the river without assistance. Additionally, the author also does not consider any type of water vehicle besides a boat, leaving the possibility that the Palean may have been able to cross the river with the assistance of a different technology. This oversight undermines the argument that no Palean boats were found but could be remedied with the addition of evidence of lack of other Palean water technologies or possibilities of crossing the Brim River.

The addition of these further details is essential to bolstering the current argument and its logic by leaving no room for excluded, contradictory details. Without these additions, the argument in its current state does not provide enough information to follow that the newly discovered baskets are not unique Palean baskets.