The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station :

" Over the past few years our late night programs has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.During this time period , most of the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news.In addition local businesses that used to advertise during our late night program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us.There for in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues , we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

In the passage, the author identifies the recent change in time allocation of weather and local news affected as negative to customers, so he claims that the station should reset the time of weather and local news in order to prevent additional losses. Although it is hard to identify the exact reason with this limited information, the author's claim does not necessarily have to be true regarding the evidence he showed.

First, the author saw the complaints that are mostly about the time allocation. However, this complaint cannot be regarded as general reviews from the viewers. if the number of those complaints decreased with this change, then it can be comprehended that most of the viewers do not have complaint with the change in time. also, even if the viewers truly disliked the coverage after the change, the main focus of this complaint might be in the content, not the time allocation. resetting the time allocation cannot also reset the quality of the contents.

Moreover, it is not proper to assert cancellation in advertisement is due to the change in time allocation as author thought about. The company might have different reasons for cancellation, such as shortage in budget. also, there can be a case that no more advertisement is needed because its marketing is enough already.

In sum, furthur analysis is desired in order to identify the reason for current complaints and cancellation. The author's assertion is too fast to decide such reasons with this limited information.