The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The memorandum does not imply specifically that the complaints received from viewers were regarding the station's coverage of "late night news program", but it makes a general statement on viewers' displeasure with the local and weather news covered by the station, in general. This seriously undermines the manager's assumption that restoring the time period devoted for news on weather and localities would bring back their previous position anyway.

Additionally, to presume that local businesses have canceled on their advertising contracts because the television channel authority decreased the time to feature local news is not relevant since advertisement policies do not work based on the amount of news presented relating to their specific regions. It has not been stated anywhere in his speech that the number of viewers that used to watch the late-night news program have declined. Although, it is implied that the station is very eager to attract more viewers to the program, that does not indicate that they have been losing viewers for the past year due to the change of arrangement in news presentation. And there can be a variety of other possible logical explanations behind the local businesses in aborting the contracts, like the businesses might have become insolvent, or that they are more inclined to advertising over internet since it seems more effective these days. This also, majorly invalidated the strategy that assigning more time on local and weather news can help them gain their former level.

I conclude that the reasons provided by the memorandum is nor sufficient neither sensible enough to agree to the argument the station manager has stated.