The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

revised

According to the business manager, in order to boost the number of viewers and increase advertising revenue, the station should increase the coverage of weather and local news. A number of assumptions have been made in this argument which we need to examine critically to decide if the argument is valid.

To begin with, the author assumes that the complaints about local news and weather are due to the reduced coverage of these topics. While some viewers could be unhappy about the reduced emphasis on local news and weather, the memo does not clearly indicate this link. Other reasons, however, could also have resulted in the complaints. For instance, some complaints could be about the inaccuracy of the weather forecasting, or there could be a new local news anchor who happens to be not as popular as the previous one. The manager needs to provide the details of the complaints to buttress his claim.

As the second argument, the author assumes that local businesses cancel their advertising also because of the reduction of time for weather and local news. Again, there are many other possible reasons why they have done so. Maybe the overall economy is in recession and the businesses has to reduce their expenses by cancelling the advertising. Or maybe they are not happy with the design of the advertising or find the advertising rather ineffective. If this is the case, the quality of the advertising has to be improved to address the problem. In other words, if the assumption does not hold true, expanding the relevant sections would not help increase the advertising revenue.

Even if reduced coverage of local news and weather is the cause of viewers’ complaints and the withdrawal of advertisement contracts, that only applies to late-night news program. Therefore it is an unjustified assumption that the station ought to increase relevant coverage on all their news programs. The memo does not mention the attitude of viewers and local businesses towards their other news programs. It is completely possible that listeners want more local news for late-night news program and less local news for the morning news program. Or people could simply not care about the length of local news and weather on other new programs.

In conclusion, more information needs to be gathered and presented to examine the gratuitous assumptions discussed above. The author would need to verify the real cause of the complaints and the lost of advertisement contracts, as well as the people’s opinion of the coverage of local news on other news programs, other than late-night news. Otherwise, the author’s arguments are not logically sound.