Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It has been a long-term heated discussion that whether the curriculum should diversified or job-oriented. Both sides have their grounds and I believe that universities should not persuade or force students to take any courses that are outside their majors.

Undoubtedly, taking a variety of courses expands one’s knowledge. My mom forced me to play piano every day when I was young, though I was only interested in science. I was reluctantly at that time but now I am starting to appreciate it, because I realized that there are a surprising degree of resemblance between science and art. It turned out that playing piano could inspire to me come up with an ingenious solution when I was beleaguered by an engineering problem. However, I do not think it will be equally conducive for college students to be involved in many extra-curriculum courses.

First of all, most students already have a heavy workload just for the major courses. I have been both a student and a teaching assistant myself. It is frequent to see students cannot even spare twenty minutes for lunch during the day, especially when exams are approaching. As a result, extra-curriculum courses will serve as a distraction under such circumstances. I tried taking an English literature class when I was a freshman, because I am a foreign student and have a penchant for literature. But that plan did not work out because I already had enough on my plate as an engineering student, especially I went to a university that is known to be have highly competitively engineering programs. Therefore, courses that are not required for that major may seriously distract students.

Furthermore, if the extra-curriculum courses are intended for broadening students' knowledge, there are also many other channels to increase knowledge that is outside the major field of study but takes less time. The advent of Internet renovates how one learns, by providing an astronomical amount of resources for everyone who has access to it. Online educational institutes and open courses, such as Coursera and Yale Open Course, are gaining increasing popularity, which has brought tremendous convenience to those who are eager to learn. Students no longer need to rush to a classroom regularly to be engrossed in their favorite subjects. One simple click on the video suffices to embark on the journey of study. The prevalence of online education has minimized the necessity of going to a real classroom to study interesting subjects. Thus, it is unnecessary to force students to take extra-curriculum courses at the universities.

In conclusion, I believe that it is more sensible to not force students, who need more time to focus on their major coursework, to take courses that are not relevant for future job hunting. If students would like to cultivate interests on a subject, they can simply enlighten themselves through online education, which provides more comprehensive yet convenient studying environments.