The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Returning to the old ways is much more comforting than making changes. According a particular television station business manager, their reduction in weather and local news have caused a lost in viewers and revenue over the past year. Though it may sound warranted to revert back to old ways, it does not necessary implicate that will bring back what they have lost. The business manager needs to dig deeper to decipher what was driving his station’s success.

The television station’s business manager adjusted their program by shortening the time spent on weather and local news. With the lost viewers and money, he wants to return the program back to the way it was. The manager does not mention exactly how many viewers have stopped watching and if the decrease in numbers started before the change. The station could have been already on a steady decline in popularity for more than a year. This would not qualify his belief that recent changes in devoting more time towards national news is one of the main cause. A disclosure of ratings and exact numbers of viewers throughout the station’s lifetime would help with deciphering how and why their station is no longer doing very well.

A majority of complaints received are subjected to the station’s cover of weather and local news. However, what is it regarding those two news topics? It is the quality of news? It is the time length of the coverage? Is it even related to the late-night news? There are no further details provided to what the complains are about; they could be about anything that is related to weather and local news. The station manager states that ‘most’ of the complaints are about two concerns, but what about the rest of the complaints? Nor does his provide the number of complaints received and if perhaps, this was already an ongoing issue. The manager’s vernacular is extremely vague and there’s no justification in anything that he has mention in his argument.

Another problem, that arose from the reduction in local and weather news time, was the cancellation of local business ads that ran during late night news. Though it could all be a coincidence that this all happened at the same time, there’s no proper indication that everything is all related. There may be different circumstances as to explain why local business cancelled their advertising contracts. These businesses may have a substantial number of customers and business that it is no longer necessary for them to continue paying for advertisement. Their customers are promoting them through word of mouth and they are doing just fine. Perhaps some of the local businesses aren’t doing as well as they had hoped and are no longer able to afford the costly televised commercials. Another station may be offering cheaper costs to advertise their business. Whatever it may be, there’s no guarantee that these local businesses will maintain or return to the station to run their ads.

The business manager makes an unwarranted statement regarding his new station’s loss of revenue and viewers in the past year. He does not provide enough in-depth and qualitative information for anyone to support his position. There are too many weak areas that need to be evaluated and strengthened before conclusions are made. If the station manager decides to return to old running program, there is not guarantee that station’s success will increase.