The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Mayor Harrison's idea that curtailing traffic congestion in major areas of Briggsville's will direclty bring about a positive increase in worker productivity and improve the towns economy hinges upon a plethora of assumptions that needs to be addressed for the plan to be successful and see light at the end of the tunnel.

Firstly, we are told that the Briggsville town has traffic congestion issues but is the town facing traffic issues or just a small proporation connecting between town's major industry hub affected by it. There needs to be more facts presented that confers that conecting major downtown areas are going to help ease the congesation issues. Also, are the major traffic prone being covered in the Subway roadmap, if not than, there might be a general decrease of motorist on the roads but its effect with diminutive.

Secondly, we are told that buses are the old form of transportation with people complaining about the incosistencies of the buses and safety. There needs to be more thought put towards understanding whether the above reasons are pushing people to restort to taking out there own vehichles on the road adding to the congestion problem. It would be fesible to try and improve the current mode of transport : buses in our case and see if this help alleviates traffic issues. The idea is to promote the use of public transport and not using personal mode.

Most importantly, the key idea behind implementing this multi-milion dollar plan is that, this will directly increase the productivity of the worker and increase the economy of the town. We have been provided no statistics or reserach that corroborates with the above conclusion. There needs to be a detailed survey conducted by the industries to find and understand what would best helps increasing the producvity of the worker -- Are the worker complacent in general?, do they use traffic congestion as an excuse of coming late to work?, Will increasing perks and incentives help them devote there energy at work? .

With that said, for the Mayor's conclusion to actually happen, the office must first help anwer some questions and run a thorough research before investing a millions of dollar's in haste.