“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I would agree with the authors ideology of "the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negetive ones." , however, only to an extent as it brings with itself a motley of emotions and assumptions.

Looking back into my early days, i vaguely remember my father letting me win the race between me and him and would publically praise me on our way back home. That indeed instilled in me a lot of confidence and a sense of victory working like dopamine, leaving me asking for more. That's exaclty what praising postive actions brings about in our lives. It's scientifically proven that praising an individual directly relates to an increased confidence and outlook of the being releasing chemicals making you feel elated and implicitly like the field.

Seeking praise is somehting we inherently long for, when combined with teaching it acts as a postive trigger. Relating our actions (good or bad) directly with the amount of praise our actions bring with them. The young picking swiftly picking up on these start to build on there strenghts i.e. that brings them more appreciation, boosting morale and inherently develop affinity towards their actions. Having said that, calling out a action as positive is very subjecttive and needs to be very sensitively handled. Since, it now resides upon the teachers to make sure the sense of positivity is instilled upon all the individual with no one left behind.

Having said that, we cannot solely reside on praising the good habits/actions and keep 'mum' on the negetive actions performed by an individual i.e 'Ignorance is bliss'. With the assumption that everything will fall in place automatically. Negetive actions if not corrected or thwarted on time lead to much bigger issue than instilling postive traits. Trust is only broken once and can never be repaired--To say that, it only takes one bad trait to bring down an individual down to dust. just ignoring the negetive actions rather portrays the tacit message that "it is not bad to do" and one would keep repeating the same mistakes over and over unless told and rectified. For instance, Kevin Spacey one of the best Hollywood actors we have ever seen was remonstrated for his negligence towards respecting women. Not corrected over time has lead to his downfall.

In conclusion, it is compelling to say that while teaching we should praise postive actions of the students but keeping in mind that their negetive actions do not slip with getting checked.