Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The analysis on tertian child-rearing practices conducted by Dr. Karp and Field hinges upon various assumptions which if not reasonably expounded, will lead to inaccurate information and subsequent studies by researchers to fall prey to similar fallacies.

To start with, Dr. Field had conducted an observation-centered approach in order to study the Tertain culture, however, no information has been supplied that conforms the basis on which Dr. Field reached to his conclusion. There needs to be more facts presented that better backs his studies -- How long did Dr.Field stay with the Tertian locals?, Was he living alongside people or would just swing by at different times of the day to record samples?. For instance, there is a possibility that what he observed was not the real depictions of the community in general.

Moreover, Dr.Karp conduected his study 20 years after Dr. Field's, running with the assumption that nothing would have changed over the course of 20 years in Tertian society. To lay out the significance of how huge the time differnce between the two studies really is, just think about the advent of mobile phones-- seems like they were part of lives for centuries-- have just evolved over a span of two decades, just like aeroplanes or the internet. The big idea is, a lot can changes in two-decades. The Tertian might just have completly shifted towards with biological parents looking after their children. Much evidence needs to be presented that documents their culture spread over the last 20 years not documented.

Having said that, even if we are agree that there were no culture changes on the island. The study does not shed any light on what quesitons were asked by Dr.Karp from the children. Were the questions asked intrinsically made the children answer keeping their biological parents in mind? Were the questions too objective with no room to digress? Much needs to be presented that confirms more accurately about the lives of the Tertian children. There needs to be a concrete research/survey conducted among the anthropologists describing what needs to be questioned that woudl ential maximum details about the children quotadian life-styles.

With that said, the conclusion about the future style of research be conducted, the anthropologists must come to concensus about the assumptions on which the conclusion rests. Keeping in mind that an interview-based method makes the interviewees conscious and curtails candidness to a certain degree, derailing the significance of the study.