Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

researching and reading about the race circuit in mind of a nascar racer before a race always holds good in compaison to a racer that directly jumps on the car on the day for the race; Understaning the past does play a major role for people in positions of leadership in current settting.

There is a reason why we usually denote the elderly in our family as 'wise' or 'sage' and are supopsed to give us right consults. That's precisely because they have come of age with experience, seeing what was right and what went wrong while working in a particular fashion. Similary, people in current postions of leaderships are seen by demotic as sage's who will lead us in the right direction-- of prospertiy and transquility.

Understanding and learning about the past of a society, helps the leader pick up on the natural virtues a society, where they come from, what they seek the most from there leaders. For example, If the Primer minister of India were to start picking up and implementing the plans being laid out by developed nation of devloping highways for car-pool vehicles without looking back into current status of the roads, we are doomed.

This does not undermines the fact that knowing about the past is all what it takes to become an efficient leader. Not always can they pick up on stratergies that had a significant impact two decades ago to assume that it will hold good today as well. For instance, Leaders professing laws only keeping into consideration settings of 1990's without giving any thoughts to the 'Age of the internet' and reforms curtailing issues pervailing in the online society, are bound have scarce popularity amongst the demographic.

In all fairness, for a leader to be efficient and work towards the betterment of a society understanding of the past is of cardinal importance.