The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author argues over the feasibility and success over unmanned space probes and satellites over manned space flight. He states that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. He also argues that the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. The author concludes by saying that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The unmanned space probes have definitely exhibited success by gathering a raft of useful information. But the satellites and probes which are sent into space for unmanned missions lack the intellectual insight and perspective possessed by human beings. The probes lack the senses of touch, taste, smell, etc. which are possessed by men and women. The information which human eyes and mind can capture is esoteric for the unmanned probes. The conditions in space or on different planets which are required for human survival can be confirmed only by manual visits.

There is no doubt that unmanned missions like Mars Orbital Mission(MOM), Concorde 18, etc are a tremendous success. But the curiosity of men and women to explore outer space and finding a planet suitable for human survival can be discovered by manned missions only. These missions definitely involve a great deal of money and risks but human beings have accepted the challenge and take risks for the betterment of mankind. The ability to take risks was exhibited long back by the Apollo mission of 1969 when Neil Armstrong became the first human being to step on the moon. NASA's Mars Mission of 2025 demonstrates the human tendency to explore much more. Manned missions are also necessary to find out whether alien life exists in space. This will unfold many mysteries about the creation of the universe and survival strategies in outer space.

Population on earth is exponentially increasing. The resources on our planet will soon be exhausted due to excessive consumption. There is a great need to find a planet which is suitable for human survival. The Mars Orbital Mission of 2013 found evidences of existence of water in solid state. This was a huge achievement. But a manned mission to Mars is incumbent to corroborate that Mars is perfectly suitable for human survival. Scientists know about that the progress of mankind will be stalled if we invest our resources only on unmanned missions and if we don't consider manned missions as an option. Therefore, scientists are industriously working to make manned missions in outer space possible.

The human brain has the capacity to think beyond preternatural phenomena and to overcome the challenges which humanity faces. There is no doubt that these manned missions are impending. We should definitely invest our resources in manned space flight along with unmanned space probes and satellites.