The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A cursory look at the statement above that an increase of 50 percent of students at Omni Universit for online degree program has resulted in significant decrease in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space seems logical; after all, online degree programs require no classroom and dormitory space. Looking critically at the statement however, the presumtion has plethora of unstated assumptions that might results in reduction in cost of maintaining buildings at Omni University; hence the argument is illogical and uncompelling for Humana University authority to accept for decision making.

Firstly, the statement linking 50 percent increase to reduction in the cost maintain building at Omni university is incoherent. How does the the writer arrive at this conclusion the reduction might be as a result of a cummulative involvement in online students enrolment over the years and not just the year under review. It might even be as a result of other programs which the university has been engaging in, aside online degree program. Other internally generated revenue sources such as remedial program, sales of products etc. These are some of the hidden or unstated assumption that are needed to be considered by the writer before this argument can be valid.

Additionally, the writer stated that the reduction in cost of maintianing building at Omni University was due to their online degree program. How does the writer arrive at this conclusion. What are his sources of information? Has went for interview at Omni? There need to be evidence to bolster his presumtion. May be an op-ed in a magazine at Omni university for students is his source of information, without interviewing the school authority. We need to know how. There is a need for more evidence from the writer to make this argument compelling.

More so, Let's assume increase in online degree programs is what translated to the reduction in cost of maintaining buildings and dormitory at Omni University. Does it mean the same will work for Humana University? Does these two universities share everything in common? what work at Omni might not work at Humana due to the interest of the students, competency of the lecturers, expertise of the I.T. personel that will handle the online program among other things. Hence the writer needs to feed us more about the human, physical and sociological composition of these two universities before his argument can be reasonable.

Finally, the writer might not be totally wrong by comparing increase in online degree enrollment at Omni University to reduction in cost of building maintainance. In all actuallity, Online degree attracts low expenditure; But there is a need for more information, inherent or hidden assumption and evidence that needs to be uncovered in terms of the two universities' compostion, students demand, expertise etc.before his presumption can be valid for authorities and decision makers at Humana University.