"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A cursory look at the statement above that Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attract more customers seems logical. However, a critical exegesis of the writers statements and its presumptions shows that, there is a plethora of questions that are craving for answers for the statement to be logical. Ergo, the writer's claim in the statement above is logically flawed and inconvincing.

Firstly, the claim that Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store comes with many considerations. One is the financial and technical capability, another is the need of the people patronizing the store. Is there a need for a cafe in this area? What is the need of the people patronizing the store? Has there been any survey of the customers which indicates the need for a cafe? Or there is an op-ed pages in the newspaper indicating a cafe in this store? What is the financial strength as well as the technical capability of the store? We have no inkling about the customer's need for a cafe These and many more questions are needed to be answered for the writer's claim to be cogent and logical. May be the customer prefer shopping for books alone in this store or prefer a cafe we just dont know.

Additionally, Discontinuing the children book section for the cafe as suggested by the writer might come with grave consequences. The children section might be the prime section that make the store thrive in terms of sales. What is the prove the writer has in terms of supporting this suggestion? What is the revenue from this section when compared to other section?- an indication of whether to scrap this section for a cafe. More so, the writer claimed that there is a significant decline in population of children under age ten in the area, but how are we to believe this claim. the decrease might be inconsequencial may be a decrease of less than 1 pecent. The writer has to prove this will unassailable evidence. After all, ''he who assert must prove'' says an hoary legal maxim. Besides, children goes beyond ten years, what will happen to the books of other children that are not in this category?

Furthermore, the writer presupposes that opening this cafe will attract more customers. What is his valid evidence for this? Has he/she conducted a research on this? before making this asseertion. An answer to this question remains a desideratum. Also, the writer advises Monarch Books to engage in this action in order to compete with Regal Books. Business is not about competition. It is about customers need and forcast for good return. If Regal Books open a cafe recently, what is their current sales from the cafe? does it worth opening another in this area? Is it thriving? These and many more questions are supposed to be answered. As it stands presently, this suggestion is not to be considered valid as chritopher Hitchen says '' That which can be asserted without evidence can be dismissed without evidence.

Ultimately, The writer is expected to provide answers to the questions asked above if he want his suggestions to be considered for decision making. If these questions are not answered, relying on the writers assumption to open a cafe at Monarch Book will result not in profit but an unpropitious prognostication.