The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

he following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. The calims of the author is completely uncalled for and is completely vague.

First of all, the author states that there are increased number of cases over past three years of 'sidewalk rage' but this statement seems to be opaque as the author failed provide details about the 'sidewalk rage' that took place in Centerville. Further, the author didn't provide the number of 'sidewalk rage' cases that took place in Centerville.

Secondly, even if we accept the fact that assaults or other serious disruptions took place in Centerville but there is no clear evidence provided that supports the claims of the author that those crimes only because of the sidewalkers. It may be possilbe that the assaults, property damage or even disruptions of pedestrian traffic are part of some criminal activity which has nothing to do with the sidewalkers.

There are some other aspects of the argument that is unanswered. The author asking the council to ban the use of cell phone. But it is unclear how would use of cell phone can cause traffic issues? Even though, the author stated that texting would cause traffic problems but the statement is too vague as it does not produce any proof that such incident has happended in the past. Today people are conscious about there surroundings and people will unlikely use cell phones while walking or even crossing the road.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that middletown passed such ban which positively affected the traffic issues but this doesn't mean that the ban would ameliorate the issue of the Centerville as they are two completely different towns and their road maps are completely different.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make convincing case that the ban of using cell phone while walking would solve the traffic issues as well other problems.