Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader is a person who is chosen by his or her peers to lead them in different situations. A leader must have the respect and belief in the cause or idea for which he or she is fighting for. When someone is chosen as a leader he is bound to follow certain untold rules.

Every leader has some responsibilites as well as duties for his or her peers. But for a leader nothing is as import as to be "Successful Leader". In order to become a successful leader one has to be more skeptical about moral judgement than anything else. A leader is followed by a number of people, but when a leader makes certain judgements that are not well accepted by his or her followers then he has to accept that he is not in the verge of becoming an "Effective Leader". A leader must always keep aside his or her personal emptions when making tough decisions. If he or she doesn't then there no difference between a normal man and a Leader. For example, we all know Gandhi was a gregarious leader and he always cared about his peers as well as for the people of India. However, he has never compromised his leadership for the sake of the inhuman beatdown that he received by the British Government. He stood steady, he stood strong and that's what defines the characteristic of a true leader.

However, a leader is also a human he also has a feeling for his peers. There might be situations where a leader has to take strict actions against his or her own peer(s). But this might hold a leader from his duties. He is a leader of all, he is not the leader of a single person.

Finally, we can say that moral judgement is something that defines a true leader although a leader must have deep respect for his or her peers but upto a certain extent.