The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given topic represents the recommendation given by a mayor to build a golf course and resort hotel in order to improve the town's economy. His recommendation includes building a resort hotel and a golf course similar to that of a neighbouring town. It is understandable that the mayor intends to develop his town, but the reasoning he has presented is inadequate and is rife with loopholes.

Firstly, the mayor goes two years back to explain the condition of a nearby town, but the condition which existed years ago cannot be used to predict what's gonna happen this year. The interest of the public and the trend of that year and the interest and the trend of this year could be completely different.

Secondly, he is talking about a single nearby town which applied similar measures that the mayor is recommending. But, there can be many other towns too, which may have failed to generate revenue even after building many golf courses. Here, he has made another unwarranted assumption that Ocean View closely represents his own town, and so economy trends would also be similar after following them, but this could be inaccurate. The people in Ocean View could be rich people who favour golf, but people in his town may not be so rich and may prefer some other kind of entertainment.

The mayor has presented data that the tax revenues have increased in Ocean View in the past two years, but it is not sure that the increase in revenue was because of this single factor of the golf course. The increase in revenue could be because of new businesses that opened there or maybe they would have built other buildings or come up with newer policies. Furthermore, the source of the 30% data is also not mentioned, which warrants that it could be ill sourced.

Finally, we see that the mayor has failed to do the resource and cost analysis of the project that he so fondly recommends. A golf course needs lots of space and building it along with a resort hotel is definitely an expensive affair. The revenue which it may generate may not be adequate to cover the cost of the golf course itself, in which case, the mayor's recommendation would be an abject failure.

With all these shortcomings in the mayor's argument, it is clear that his recommendation is ill-advised. In order to make his recommendation more cogent, he should analyze the verisimilitude between his town and Hopewell, and study other aspects of Hopewell which would have caused the increase in its revenue. He should also study other towns which would have adopted similar measures.