The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is understandable that the director of student housing wants to build newer dormitories seeing the growing enrollment trend and unaffordability of off-campus housing. His solution of the problem, although reasonable, is still based on unwarranted assumptions that make his argument faulty.

Firstly, the director assumes that just because the enrollment is increasing in recent years, it will continue to be so for many years to come. A trend is never fully dependable. It can shift immediately the following year too, and if this happens, the new dormitories will just be a waste of money.

Secondly, he says that the rent in the off-campus housing is rising continuously. It may be true but he hasn't checked on the financial status of the enrolling students to ensure that they will not be able to afford it. The amount or percentage of increase is also not mentioned, which could ultimately be a meagre amount. The steep pricing may also have affected campus housing and the hostel fees could also have raised commensurately to that of off-campus housing, which he has not mentioned.

Thirdly, he believes "attractive" dormitories would pique the interest of prospective students, but it is not just based on dormitories that students base their college choice. In the contrast, it might just be the least of the student's worries.

Finally, the director has failed to survey the area nearby his college to see if any new houses or even new colleges are being built. If it is so, then the newer buildings may take away the prospective students who the directors expect to occupy his newly constructed hostels.

Rife with numerous assumptions, the memo presented by the director is inadequate to verify the need for new housing in the college. Perhaps, a wiser move would be to present more data on the enrollment trends, students background, their inclination, off-campus housing, etc to make his argument more credulous.