Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given argument contends that the existing legal system of our society is inadequate in solving the problems of our modern society and has provided a logical reasoning to support its claim. My views are in agreement with the claim established by the author. I do agree that the existing law system is still imperfect and, even after all these years of development, still requires improvement in its judging system.

Laws are developed to solve the problem of our society. There are many rubrics set forward in the constitution abiding by which the legal body yearns to solve the societal problem. This complicated rubric is itself a loophole in its establishment. Presence of so many procedures and exceptions for each of them makes it possible for criminals to find a way to escape the hands of the law. At the same time, it also makes it extremely difficult for a peasant to follow up to whatever procedures set forward by the statutory body to get his justice. Hence, his trust in the procedures vitiates away.

The expensive nature of the law system is also daunting for any middle-class person and so such people would be reluctant to approach the court. There have been many cases where an appellant has lost more money than how much he has gained by winning the lawsuit. Seeing this, not many people approach any court even though injustice has bruised them.

Laws are created to guide the society to do the right thing by impacting their minds and hearts positively. But this is not always the case. Many times people become reluctant to follow the law. They disparage the rules that have been set forward by the government even though it is for their own sake. The rules, such as paying fine when one breaks the traffic rules, are often derided.

Rules written in the law book is written in favour of the majority group of the public, by the majority party. So, the minorities are often left out. For example: In a country populated by mostly Hindus, the law may be to give public holiday during Dashain - Hindus' festival, but not in Christmas - Christain's festival, or even in Eid - Islam's festival. It is itself a form of discrimination then.

Putting things in a nutshell, laws are definitely the best guide that a society has right now, but it is imperfect and still needs improvement if it is to be able to address all the issues of the society correctly.