In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When we talk about a field of inquiry, the discipline that it includes can be multifarious - Geology, Zoology, Botany, Magnetic science and countless others; all embodied within the subject of science. It involves studying the nature of the world with the aim of quelling the thirst for knowledge that people have and, at the same time, coming up with inventions, each nudging the society towards its betterment. The given argument contends that these inventions are more likely to be brought up by beginners in the field, rather than the vaunted experts. My views are not in acquiesce with the author.

Beginner's luck - there is an expression given for feats that are achieved by the amateurs of the field. The feat may be significant, but luck is not a metric based on which we can just say that they are better than the veterans. Definitely, beginners are creative, they may approach problems in manners that an expert may not even imagine to pursue. But whatever techniques that experts use are often proven techniques, whilst the techniques used by a beginner are not always proven. Their urge for experimentation and naivete is all that which brings about the coincidental discoveries. But these coincidences are equally possible by experts, or just about anyone if they beat on the bush.

When scientific technology was just fledging, at that time there was a myriad of things that people didn't know. There was a wealth of discoveries that could easily be made, and thus many were done with simple luck too. A person would have simply rubbed two stones and voila, we have a fire. A chemist would have mistakenly spilled a chemical over another and voila, we have a new chemical. However, the time is different now. Any innovations come up as a culmination of many years of research. In order to invent something that has a big societal impact, it might even take decades of work, that too with many people working in the team day in day out.

Summing up, the callow beginners are not more likely to contribute to science like experts. The statement that the beginners are more likely to make contributions is only relevant many decades back when the world of science was itself a beginner.