Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given topic is trying to highlight the importance of scandals. Scandals, which are seldom exposed in the media, direct the viewer's attention to the component of a system which may not be very conspicuous to a layman. With this regard, my view is in compliance with the author's argument. I do agree that scandals need to be exposed at times if any problems are to be identified and hopefully be solved.

A layman, viewing the system from an indifferent perspective, doesn't know the intricacies of a system unless he is himself involved in it. With that being the condition, he never knows if the system is truly what it is portrayed to be or does it just pose a false mask in front of the pedestrians. Let us take this example: We, as a general public, always assume traffic police as a non-corrupt entity. But, unless we are ourselves involved in dealing with them, will never know how venal they are or how honest they are. But, if a scandal arises exposing the mercenary inclination of the traffic-police, definitely, we'd know more, and perhaps take the necessary steps to expurgate this problem from our society.

There is always some another system, like media, which exists to scrutinize the work done by a given system. But it may not always be the case that their way of examination perfectly captures all problems. They may have failed to capture parts of the system that scandals expose.

It is to be understood, however, that scandals don't always capture the general traits of a system. It could be, perhaps, that the exposed scandal is the only one that happened; the traffic police that we talked about earlier may only be a single corrupt person in the system. It is also possible that the so-called corrupt traffic police was only a victim of someone else's trap. If this is the case, it may be foolish to judge the person or the system based on the single case. So, it is prudent to make a proper investigation before accepting the authenticity of any scandal.

To summarize all that's been written, scandals are indeed important in revealing information that's been hidden from the society. However, the arisal of a single case should not be accepted blindly. A propitious investigation must be initiated to determine the credibility of the scandal and then suitable actions should be undertaken to overcome the problem.