The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The topic is trying to convey the need for cooperation over competition and is urging people to inculcate a sense of cooperation in the young generation, instead of the feeling of competition. I am in agreement with the author because I feel that competition only creates asperity between the competitors and in a long run causes a society to degenerate. On the other hand, proper cooperation between individuals allows their relationship to foster which will eventually morph a society into a better place to live.

Relationships are developed when people solve problems together, not by being a problem for one another. In a class of students, a student considers another student his friend only if the other student has helped him in some way and not if the other student has posed a challenge to him in any ways.

Competition causes a society to develop at a faster pace, we can't deny this fact. When people are competing against one another, they are pushed to do better in their field. This eventually causes efficiency in working and society gets served better this way. However, a society where everyone is pushing each other, no matter how developed it is, is not a one that people would like to live in. A life in such a society would be a stressful one. This is the reason why people living in large cities are not always as happy as people living in a rustic village.

Competition drives people to involve in criminal activities. In our society, most people feel a competition for earning money. This competitive feeling is what drives them to involve in unscrupulous activities such as theft and corruption. Similarly, a government driven by the competition for power ends up being a corrupt government that can't do well for the society. Even if the government does well, the competitive feeling of the opposition party never lets them get acknowledged for the good deeds done by them.

Summing up the points, cooperation and friendship is the best policy to lead a society. A feeling of competition is acerbic to any society and may be called beneficial only if it is a healthy one and is devoid of any dishonesty. Thus, morality and cooperation are the virtues that should be instilled in the future generations so that those principles become the guiding principles of the future.