The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

7. "We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The author recommends that in order to attract must customers, Monarch must open a café in the store. When prompt is considered as a whole, argument reveals several instances of weak reasonings and fails to mention key points. To justify the argument, author notes that continuing children’s book section will become useless and Regal Books already has opened a café. However, while author does not consider the differences and similarities between Monarch and Regal, he/she also does not show reliable sources to prove that children’s books will not attract customers. Hence author must investigate reasonings and provide evidences in order to bolster the argument.

To begin with, the author readily assumes that a national census showing decline in the percentage of children in population is a supportive evidence to remove the section. Unless this point is based on a solid ground, one cannot build a cogent case on it. For example, the number of adults might be increasing in a higher rate than the number of children in the society, which would misguide the author to believe that they cannot attract enough customer for the section. Moreover, we are also not sure how the census is conducted, therefore it cannot be used to predict the destiny of a firm. Thus the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly get answers to the questions on the census and the real numbers instead of percentage.

In addition to that, argument readily claims that Monarch Book is boon with Regal Books that open a café in their store. Again, this is an unwarranted claim as it does not demonstrate any clear connection between two book stores. To illustrate further, Monarch Book is a twenty years old trustful store but Regal Books might be failure as they cannot provide eclectic range of books to customer. This could lead them to open a café and become a different store other than a book store. Also, we do not have any information on the number of customers they have before and after this construction. If the argument had provided that Regal Books was a convivial rival to Monarch and they did have success as a result of only this application, it would have been a lot more plausible to reader.

Finally, by taking mentioned claims as warranted, author suggests that opening a café will attract more customer for the store. Still, there are unclarity on the need of more customers of the Monarch. For instance, do we have any analysis on the customer trends for the store? Let’s say they have declined dramatically in the last years, which could be caused by bad management, disrespectful employees or the noise around the store. The reason of the decline also must be investigated in this case. Further, opening a café might annoy the customer base of the Monarch. Some people might want to avoid book stores like Regal just because they have café, noise and people who are not interested in books coming to store just for coffee. Without, evidentiary answer to why store needs more customers, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by author are more of an inkling rather than substantiated case.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not persuasive as it sounds. To strengthen the claims, he or she must provide more concrete answers to questions regarding to census, their rival Regal Books and their customer base. Perhaps, they could use a detailed analysis of their customer base to serve better as a book store.