Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The premise gives rises to a controversial issue of whether universities should prepare students only for the field of study or should follow a more holistic approach for the real life. Many get into college for studying their interest in some professions to work after the graduation. Also their parents want best for their children, meaning a successful and wealthy life. Therefore, they expect from colleges to teach and focus every technical details of the profession. Indisputably, students must learn the details of the profession to be ready for the job market. However, the life or the job market is not only about the subjects of the field. Graduates must have a sense of human relations, philosophy of life and social polish in life. Since the college takes too much time in students’ life, I agree that they have a responsibility to register students certain classes even though they are not in the field of students.

To begin with, education is more than the study of the fields. Responsibilities of educational institutions include to develop a stimulated intellectual, to teach universal values, to have an understanding of reacting to conflicted ideas. Afterall, mentioned acts are the only way to be have a productive society and to contribute growth. For example, an engineer graduated from the college must get into interviews to get a job first, which graduate need to understand the needs of the job and also be able to explain himself. While working, he is going to work and communicate with other engineers, which might have opposite ideas or lacking ideas.

Secondly, college curriculums are full of the classes belonging to field of studies. Sometimes students like to relax and get rid of the stress. For this reason, universities must require free elective classes to help students. A student studying mathematics might have delightful time while using musical instruments. If this kid can register a music class for two hours a week, he could be more focused to other classes because he already spends time to his hobbies as it pay out as grades for his GPA. Moreover, children must choose a field of study in high school to pursue it in the college. Surely, it is an early age to complete discovering themselves and understand the requirements of the professions. During the college, most of the students realize that they do not want to keep pursue the field they have chosen. At this point, classes out of their fields will give a deep idea of the other professions, making it possible to change the field.

On the opposite side, colleges are seen as a place to provide only technical study of the fields students want to follow. People support that students might not able to focus their fields because of required other classes. Nevertheless, today’s world is extremely complicated and fields are becoming together to create new solutions or develop the situations in the real world. Having courses out of the field of study is not a burden but it is a way of improving the original field of study. For example, Jeffrey Sachs, while working for United Nations, he created a solution for the hyperinflation occurring in the Africa by using the first aid rules. This was not be possible unless Sachs would have information about both the medical applications and economics. Hence, studying different classes might lead unexpected way of looking to events rather than focusing and getting blinded by the field.

In conclusion, colleges must require classes out of the field of study for every student. Proposing that students cannot focus to their original studies does not hold longer because interdisciplinary works are on the rise due to the extreme mixture of study fields in real life. Moreover, students have a way of changing fields or relaxing thanks to these classes.