1. To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Leaders, economists, artists and scientists have to make decisions about their country every single day to improve the nation's circumstances. But it requires great knowledge and understanding on the keystones of not only their society but also other societies to have effective choices. At this point, the perspectives on how to find the correct and important characteristics of a society play influential role. One of them is to choose a population sample to examine the characteristics but this idea leads authorities to two main different ways. Some thinks that population sample must be the people in the rural side while others think major cities must be investigated for the purpose. Looking closely to major cities and how they affect the country in the developed ages, I believe that nation's culture are created, improved and preserved in the major cities. So, to have an understanding of most important characteristics of a society, one must study the major cities.

To begin with, high percentage of the society live in the major cities of the country. Since society's culture is a metric to understand the characterists of the society and shaped through the interaction between large number of diversed people, major cities are full of art galleries, musical events, historical museums and economic activities. For example, United Kingdom is one of the strongest and most diversed countries in the world. So, what are the economic activities of the country that define itself in the world? They are mostly the financial services, IT businesses, trade and movie making firms. While one inspects these activities, one can see that almost the 80% of these activities are created in London, which is one of the major cities of the country. London represents the United Kingdom by hosting variety of people both belonging the different nations all over the globe and the many citizens of the Kingdom. Therefore, with the purpose of living together and earning money, majority of people creates common ideas for a living by intense communicating and sharing, which leads mentioned activities to become a part of the whole nation. Moreover, this is also true for the activities other than the economic ones. People use their spare time for spiritual reasons such as: improving oneself, learning, teaching, relaxing or reflecting. In the end, creations like paintings, sculpture, music or cuisine come to surface and tell a story about the owners. Since major cities have the most of interactions in the country, these productions mirror the way of living of the nation.

In addition to this, major cities have an accumulation of cultures because they have the longest and most involved history. These kinds of cities experienced the empires, wars, crisis, hunger or migrations. For example, Istanbul has a long history and is one of the biggest cities in world to the extent that it has more people than the whole population of Greece, Sweden or Belgium. Known for the Greek name at the time, Bosphorus, hosted Byzantium colony, Alexander the Great, Byzantine Empire and Turkey followed by Ottoman Empire. This is a history of almost 3000 years. Each societies lived in the city left a legacy with paintings, architecture, beliefs and the stories telling about the people. Hence, generations after the predecessors built on these legacies and improved the culture. Since society had years to embrace and follow the culture, these values distributed the whole society and people strongly hold on to them. While looking to Istanbul, the things mostly stand out are the mosques and churches. Actually, this defines one of the most characteristics of the Turkish people. Before Ottoman Empire, Byzantine Empire built sacred places to follow their beliefs for years. When Istanbul was conquered by Fatih Sultan Mehmet in 15th century, they started building mosques to help people to follow their religions. Yet, they did not destroy the previous sacred places. Through years, this became an important matter for the country and now Turkish people are known for being very sensitive with the beliefs and respecting the diversed religions in the country.

On the opposite side, many people believe that rural areas must be studied to understand the characteristics of a society because these are the places where people live an isolated life and protects their way of living. If this was said in an era that countries were not developed other than agriculture and husbandry, rural areas would reflect the culture of the society because those were the places including most of the people creating the culture and mentioned activities were the only activities for economic revenue. Unfortunately, in the modern world, this generalization is fallacious due to increased connectedness, migration and other economic activities. To be clear, rural areas are the number one places where people migrate from. Thus, they cannot keep people to carry on the cultures they have in those places. Also, rural areas have the Internet connection and mobile reception keeping them exposed to global interactions, which proves that they are not isolated anymore. Shortly, rural places are not creating or improving the culture of the society in developed ages.

In conclusion, to comprehend the most important characteristics of a society, one must look at the places having a long history, and most of the people in the country living and creating. Rural areas driving the society is a phenomena stayed in the beginning of the history where people only had a simple living due to undeveloped relations and activities. Major cities provide societys a historically grown culture and an opportunity to have many and diversed people interacting all at once so that creating and improving the culture which builds the characteristics of the nation.