"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Production Company is recommending to increase the share of advertising for next year hoping that this awareness will increase the number of people attending the Super Screen produced movies. The directors reasons for such recommendation are not cogent enough and are filled up with assumptions. Before knowing the answer to few question one cannot evaluate the recommendation further.

Is the increase in percentage of positive reviews gurantee that more people are liking the movies? The director in making the recommendation here assumes that problem is not in the quality of movies but with awareness among public. This assumption is made on the basis of increase in the percentage of positive movie reviews. The director here forgets to consider that the increase in percentage does not gurantee the increase in number of reviwers liking the movie. For instance, if the number of reviewers who watched the movie is less than last year, the percentage of people who gave positive reviews is bound to increase. If this is the scenario then the director's recommendation turns out to be unreasonable.

Are people really not aware of the movies? The director assumes that the reason people are not watching the movies is because they are unaware of the availability of good quality movies. But, for instance, if people are aware of the movies and still deciding to not watch the movie may be because of some time or money constraints than in such scenarios the director's assumptions do not hold and no amount of advertisement will then be able to increase the people attending the movie.

Does the the movie reviewers interest align with people interest? The director assumes that if the movie is getting positive reviews then it is a good quality movie and people are bound to like it. The director here does not consider the fact that may be a movie liked by the critics does not appeal to general public and people aware of the movie reviews still do not prefer to watch. The movie might fail to attract the audience. If such scenario turns out to be true then the director's reasons prove to be faulty.

To evaluate and decide on the recommendation, the answer to above questions becomes necessary as they can turn the director's the argument on which the recommendation is based to be unreasonable.