The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everyone constituting a society contributes towards the well-being of it; both the people and ruling authority. The nature of the relation between the authority and the people play a vital role in shaping the society. People keeping leaders accountable for their actions can help maintain a balance within a society.

When people question authority it makes the authority accountable and responsible. It forces people in power to make decisions keeping the benefit of public in mind. History is filled with examples where people have questioned and raised their voice against authority which has led the authority to accede to public demands. For example, when people of India began questioning british rulers and raising their voice against their unjust system they marked the beginning of the freedom struggle which further led to their independence in 1947 after years of subversion under British rule.

On the other hand, if people do not question the authority and subjugate to its rules and requirements then they allow the authority to rule in whatever way they want. It can lead to unjust laws, corrupt leaders and biased decisions which all indicate towards an unstable society. The dictatorship rule of Adolf Hitler provides a perfect example of such a society where people followed their leaders unquestioningly which led to the killing and suffering of a large number of people.

It is the responsibility of the people to question authority for the well being of the society and it is their right to get their questions answered.