Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The people holding higher position in an enterprise play a vital role in shaping the future of the enterprise. It is the responsibility of the leaders to make sure that the institution is functioning effectively and that it is moving towards progress. For years, people are trying to come up with a process that can guarantee success for an institution. The given claim is also trying to achieve so by reasoning that the warranted path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Every enterprise or field has different needs and requirements. Bringing in new people to occupy higher positions after some interval of time might prove beneficial especially in a field like education where new leaders can bring in fresh perspectives and ideas. Education is a fast growing field. One thing that is seems necessary today might turn outdated or obsolete tomorrow. A new leader can help in keeping pace with changing needs.

On the contrary, there are fields where such frequent changes to the leadership positions might lead to instability. For example, business is a field where a leader having good experience and understanding of the enterprise can make better decisions for that institution. If the enterprise changes the leader in every five years then the new leader would need to have a full understanding of the business, functioning of the organisation and the people working for it. Changing leaders in such cases might prove to be a costly affair.

Though, achieving success though is one common goal for every enterprise but there is not a common path to it. There is no one formula for success that can be applied to every field. Every field develops and grows in its own ways with both its leaders and people contributing to its success.