Society plays an important role in shaping an individual and preparing them for leadership in government, industry or other fields. The author in the given statement claims that the best way a society can prepare its young people is by instilling a sense of cooperation, not competition. The author's claim here sounds a little extreme and ignorant of the fact that competition plays in today's world.

Today's world is becoming way too competitive where everyone is striving for the best. For becoming a leader in any field one has to compete with equally skilled and talented competitors. For instance, to get a job for any position in any firm, one has to go through a rigorous screening process where he/she has to prove themseleves better and different from other candidates. A candidate who is not prepared for such a competition is more likely to fail then one who is prepared. Thus, instilling a competitive sense becomes important for a society to prepare its young people for success in such a competitive world.

A healthy competition encourages everyone to perform better and more efficiently. For instance, in goverment we have an opposition party that make sure the party in authority is keeping its promises and is working towards the welfare of the people. In such scenarios, the fear of losing to the opposition is what makes the ruling party to give their best. In a world of no competition, leaders with no fear of losing their position will not work hard enough to sustain it.

One might argue that, for a successful endeavour it is important for the leader in any field to work in cooperation with its people. But the leader will make such an effort only if he fears of losing to its competitors. In today's competitive world society must instill sense of competition to ensure success for its young people.