Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Archaeologists have discovered Palean baskets (woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern) in Lithos which is situated across the Brim River from Palea. As Brim River is deep and broad and no Palean boats have been found author has concluded that these baskets are not unique to Palea and could have been formed by other people too. Three evidence needs to be discussed before evaluating the argument any further.

First of all, evidence for any other route from Paleas to Lithos.In the argument the author assumes that there is only one way from Paleas to Lithos and that is through the Brim River. If there exists another route from Palea to Lithos, for instance via a third village, then authors assumption will be refuted and the evidence proving the existence of any such route will weaken the authors argument.

Secondly, evidence of means other than Palean boats by which Palean people could have crossed the Brim River. The author, in the given argument, concludes that since there are no Palean boats available no Palean people could have crossed the Brim River and reached Lithos. The author does not consider the possibility where Paleans could have reached Lithos by any other means. For example, there can be a case where some Lithos people visited Palea using their own boats via Brim River and while returning brought some of the Palean people along with them to Lithos. Evidence for such scenarios could prove the authors conclusion to be wrong and thus can weaken the argument.

Thirdly, evidence that Palean baskets reached Lithos without Palean people themselves travelling? For example, if some evidence proves that Lithos people carried Palean baskets along with them from their visit to Palea then author assumptions will no longer hold true and the evidence would weaken the argument.

If any of the above mentioned evidence can be found then the basis on which the author made the assumption for woven baskets not being unique to Palean will become weaken.