The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Board of Directors of Monarch book store, known for its wide selection on books on all subjects, are recommending here that opening a cafe in the Monarch book store will help in attracting more customers and better with Regal cafe which has done the same. Whether the recommendation is likely to have indented result can be determined only after knowing the answer to few questions.

Firstly, is the space occupied by children’s book section is sufficient for cafe. The board is making the assumption that by eliminating children’s book section they can create enough space to open a cafe. For instance if the cafe needs more space( as a comfortable and likeable is expected to require) they would need to remove more sections which will then impact the book store popularity because its wide collection of books is what the store is known for. So answering the question regarding the space needed for cafe is must before deciding upon the recommendation.

Secondly, Will the decline in percentage of population under age ten will impact the customer base of Monarch book store. The board assumes that since the percentage of population under ten is going to decline, then removing the children’s book section will not impact the customer base. If, for instance, children under ten forms the main portion of the stores customer base then discontinuing children book section can have serious effect on stores profit and customers. Taking into consideration the above example, the answer to the assumption if proved to be false can weaken the assumption made by the board.

Only after getting the answer for the above few questions can one decide on the recommendation as a different answer to the question can actually weaken the recommendation and it can fail to produce the expected result.