The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The recommendation from advertising director of the super screen movie Production Company highlights the need to increase budget for advertising of the movies to reach a wider audience. The recommendation is based on some observed facts like fewer number of people attending the screening of super screen-produced movies but more number of positive reviews for the same. however, the reasons are not backed by plausible explanations and hence the argument is rife with fallacies.

Firstly, the author has assumed a lack of public awareness of the good-quality movies available. The author based his claim on the fact that fewer number of people attended super screen-produced movie this year than last year. however, there is not data regarding the same. it might be possible that until last year an average of 1000 people watched the movies and this year it has fallen down to 980 people. so the decrease here is only of 20 people which is 2% of the original. hence the change is inconsequential. Also, it might have happened that the present year witnessed more drastic climate changes which lead to people not going out for movies often. so, even if the people knew about the movies releases the bitter conditions prevailing at that time confined them to their homes rather than going out for movies. Had the author mentioned some numbers related to the decrease in people, or that the climatic conditions were the same as other years the claim regarding lack of public awareness would have been convincing.

The author states that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about super screen movies have increased during the past year. but, the contents of those reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers. The claim sounds unreasonable. I f the percentage of positive reviews increase significantly then obviously more number of people would have watched the super screen movie. but in the first sentence of the argument the author claims that fewer number of people actually watched super screen movie this year. Clearly, there is a mismatch between what the author is trying to say in both the sentences and what the actual interpretations are. it might have happened that the number of positive reviews increases only by a small amount. say only one reviewer reviewed the movie previous year, if this year two reviewers reviewed it the increase is 100%. Though 100% is a huge percent increase but the actual number of reviewers only increased by one and so the reviews are not reaching more people as they are trivial in number.

The author claims that public lack awareness that movies of good quality are available. but it might have happened that the public is aware, but the public has a negative view about the movie because of which they are not watching it. The public might be discontented by some previous super screen movies and so some of them might have decided not to attend super screen movies. hence that raises a doubt on the quality of the movies. is it worth advertising a movie which is condemned by the public? The author should have taken this thoughts into consideration.

hence we can say that the argument is rife with fallacious reasoning. Therefore is it difficult to ascertain the effects of increased advertisement of the movies, it could turn out to be useless. The author could have backed the claims by evidence to make the argument more cogent.