The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this prompt, the author comes to this unwarranted conclusion, that they should allot a greater share of their budget to distributing the film through advertising. The reason given by the author for this assumption is, that a specific Super Screen produced movie had a rise in good reviews. His three assumptions are reliant on shreds of evidence which are not relevant and potentially reduce the persuasiveness of the memo.

Firstly, there is no reason stated as to why lesser people have been attending Super Screen produced movies. The author does not have any information regarding this issue. Just because a specific Super Screen produced movie has gained high positive revivews, we cannot conclude that the their movies are not advertised enough. For example, the situtaion could be that the people are actually aware of these movies and deliberately hold a negative notion about these movies. Perhaps these movies are actually inferior in quality in terms of directing, cinematography or writing. These issues could have led to the poor attendance of these Super Screen movies. Therefore, the authors statements make no sense and not justified.

Secondly, the author talks about the positive reviews from movie reviewers about a specific Super Screen produced movie. This argument holds no water since there could be a possibility that these movie reviewers are very small in number. Perhaps, these movie reviers have been bribed by the Super Screen company to generate servile reviews to generate some interest of the people in these movies. There could also be the case that the report that has been recieved from the marketing team is duplicitous and the company is lying about these figures. Therefore, without any authentic information about these movie reviewers or that report, we cannot conclude on the decision taken by the authories.

Thirdly, my question is what assurance does the Super Screen Movie Production Company have that with the increased budget on advertising, these films will be attended by large number of people? There could be a possibility that Super Screen Production company does not cater movies to the liking of the majority people. For example, people enjoy mostly humorous or funny movies but Super Screen movies are perhaps mostly, serious and stolid movies. There could also be the possibility that the advertising budget might not be as much as other companies. This could lead to the fact that their reach will be limited.

Therefore, there are few questions that the author needs to address and take into consideration before he can conclude and come up with a decision. The author needs to carefully deliberate all these questions and conduct a better systematic study.