"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, it is concluded that there is a lack of public awareness of the good quality film and therefore the compnay should advertise more and let the public know about their good quality film as the numbers have decreased compared to last year. The recommendation made is based on unwarranted assumptions and lacks certain evidences. The claim of the advertising director would be bolstered if he/she is able to answer these two questions.

Firstly, the advertising director states that there is decrease in number of people wattching the movies produced by their company but later states that there is percentage increase in positive reviews compared to last year. Is it possible that the percentage calculated for this year has more people compared to earlier and the positive reviews count being the same over the years? Absolutely, it is possible that the number of positive review over the two years have a constant number of 40 say and the number of reviews given this year is 200 whereas in the past year it was 100, then it is clear that the percentage of the current would be 20% and that of the earlier year would have been 40% but this does not make any point to bolster the director claim. He also states that the reviews percentage increased only for some specific movies. It is possible that the specific movies which got positive reviews would be 2 or 3 out of 10 movies. This would surely make the claim questionable and therefore, should be provided with some accurate evidences that cite the proper statistic of the movies.

Secondly, the director assumes that the contents of the reviews is not reaching the viewer and therefore, the company should advertise more to increase the viewer of the movies produced by their company. As there is no clear point made to illustrate whether the positive reviews said anything about the quality of the movie or was it about the storyline of the movie or any other? There are higher possibilities that the reviews are about the story and the actors rather than the quality. The director should have provided some example of the reviews or could have attached a print of the reviews given which would have helped the argument to be lucid rather than absurd and would have satisfied the person to whom the letter is addressed.

In the conclusion, the recommendation of the director can be bolstered if he/she is able to answer the above mentioned questions and provide evidences which are unfalsifiable only then will the company look into the recommendation made of increasing the budget to advertise more and reach more viewers.