The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument written in the article by Dr.Karp states that the earlier study of an anthropologist, Mr. Filed that the children of Tertia where raised by the whole village is false as in the recent interview with children of various island including Tertia speak more about their biological parents then others of the village and further adds that more understanding about reared children of Tertia will be known after the survey they are carrying out now. The argument mentioned totally lacks evidence to support his claim and is based on assumptions. There are three reasons/evidences which if provided will help Dr.Karp bolster his claim.

Firstly, the anthropologist, Dr.Karp is trying to falsify a claim which was made twenty years ago. Isn’t twenty years a long period of time? Within a span of two decades many of these things must have changed and even the child-rearing tradition. Therefore, instead of surveying or interviewing the children, the anthropologist must interview the ones who were child when Dr.Field concluded his observations, i.e., the adults aged between twenty to thirty years as they were the ones who were children when Dr.Field visited Tertia.

Secondly, the interview taken by Dr.Karp has children living in the group of islands which include Tertia. What if the interviewing children have a very less count of children from Tertia like only one or two amongst twenty? Therefore, Dr.Karp should provide the information of how many children were interviewed from Tertia solely (as there can be cases that for a group of fifty children who were interviewed only two or three of them were children from Tertia) and based on that only his conclusion can be taken into consideration otherwise the claim of his research is totally inaccurate.

Thirdly, the author states that further understanding will be known about the rearing culture of Tertia as a team of students are working on the interview centered method but the interview is taken again of the children then it is of no use as they are not the ones who were reared by the village when Dr.Field visited Tertia. Therefore, the interviewing should be done taking into consideration the above-mentioned points and for better understanding each and every age group of the village should be interviewed.

In the conclusion, the claim in the article is ill-founded and needed better evidences to bolster the claim. If the author takes into consideration the aforementioned evidences and helps provide them then he would have some unfalsifiable claims which now are not mentioned and therefore making his claim totally based on assumptions.