The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of the movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The memo by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie production company recommends to allocate a greater share of its budget next year in advertising to reach the public. The advertising director gives the recommendation based on the conclusion that the qualities of the movies is not bad and that there is lack of public awareness about the good quality of movies available. These conclusions are drawn from the report of past year that shows increased percentage of positvie review even though fewer people attended Super screen- produced movies. The arguments made by the advertising director have insufficient evidence and should answer the below mentioned three reasons to be recommended.

First of all, could it be the case that people are aware about the movies previously produced by Super Screen and chose not to come? There is a possibility of the case that the majority of public did not like previous films produced by the company and thus decided not to show up for any movies produced by them last year. If such was a scenario then company needs to gather data on whether the public was aware about the films being released which were produced by production house or not rather than just assume that there was lack of awareness among the public. If the public was aware and chose not to attend the movie screenings, then it means that in reality it is the quality of the movies which is bad and thus the advertising directors recommendation to increase budget for advertising will not have the desired effect.

Secondly, did only the people who have previously liked the movies produced by Super Screen attended the screenings last year? It is possible that only a certain select type of people attended the screenings last year and thus the report of increased percentage of positive reviews from last year is actually biased. If this is the case then the company needs to analyse the viewer base to check if it is biased. If indeed the people who attended and posted postive reviews are a small number of fans of the kind of movies produced by Super Screen, then if the company goes ahead with recommendation of reaching out to a wider viewer base, it may not have the desired result as most people might not enjoy the kind of movies produced by the company.

Lastly, does last year's results reflect what will happen next year as well? It is important to understand and reflect on with evidence if the positive reviews of last year mean than in the next year it will happen the same way. It is possible that the company produced some movies last year which starred famous celebrities which people follow, however it may not be able to do the same next year in which case, if they approach a wider public base with recommended increased budget in adversting as made by the director it may not have the desired result of increased postive response.

Therefore, the recommendation made by the advertising director is not a very solid and is based on many unwarranted assumptions. To bolster the recommendation, the above mentioned questions must be addressed and answered to through proper research like a survey.