The following recommendation was made by the president and the administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government ted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed co-education. Keeping the college all females will improve morale among the students and convince alumnae to keep supporting college financially.

The recommendation made by the president and the administrative staff of Grove College to the college's governing committee states the college should preserve its tradtions of all female education as this will improve the morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. This recommendation is based on the results of surveys from students and alumnae, even though majority of faculty members voted in favour of coeducation as it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. This argument is based on flawed assumptions and does not hold a very solid ground. Three questions need to be answered to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, how many students and alumnae took the survey? The recommendation states that 80% of students and half of the alumnae who took the survey were against co-education. However, the recommendation at no point mentions how many of the students and alumnae took the survey. It is possible that a relatebly small fraction took the survey and thus the survey does not represent the accurate result regarding what most of the actual students and alumnae think about introducing co-education in Grove college. Therefore, knowing the total number of people who participated in the survey is important to know whether the percentage who responded against co-education is relevant or not for consideration.

Secondly, will introducing co-education mean that alumnae will stop or reduce funding the college financially? The recommendation unfoundedly assumes that to keep alumnae's financial support, in place, it must remain an all-female education college. However, it is possible that the alumnae continues to support the college financially even if the the college introduces co-education. Moreover, considering the argument of the faculty memebers that introducing co-education will encourage more students to apply, it is possible that eventually the alumnae base increases a lot more and so does the funding for the college. Therefore, it is important to get proper numbers regarding alumnae decision about funding the college if coeducation is introduced. If it does not stop funding then claims in the recommendation are unfounded.

Third and lastly, can co-education increase healthy competition among students and further improve morale? The recommendation assumes that keeping the college all-female will improve the morale among the students. However, it is possible that by introducing co-education in the college, there is increased competition among the students and new methods of learning are introduced which motivate the students further to perform better. If that is the case the assumption regarding improving morale of existing students by keeping the college all female does not hold much water. Thus more research is recquired in this aspect.

In conclusion, the recommendation and the argument as it stands is not cogent. It is based on various unfounded assumptions that do not hold a solid ground. The arguments needs to provide answers for the above questions in form of detailed survey or research study to evaluate whether introducing co-education and changing the long existing all-female education tradtion in Grove College be beneficial for the college.