The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

We grow by sharing. Leadership is effective only when it takes everyone forward and not just one individual. In other words, a good leader is one who can do collective good. With ever changing scenarios and raising awareness among humanity, we need to be careful who we chose as our leaders and how we prepare our leaders. The claim recommends that the instilling sense of cooperation instead of competition is the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields such as government, industry and more. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the claim for three reasons.

First of all, for an effective leadership, cooperation means understanding the needs as well as accomodating every person in the plan for growth. It is only by cooperation that one can bring about a sense of upliftment in both self and fellow collegues. For example , Mahatma Gandhi, father of India and a leader who brought together entire India to fight back the British regime. He achieved this with cooperation and support from the Indian citizens, by instilling in them sense of courage and the drive to achieve the independence they deserve. Leaders from the entire nation came together to work together towards a single goal. This example portrays how cooperation achieves goal meant for a group, whereas competition would just destroy the entire purpose and lead to a failed consequence. This is important to know as we understand what results cooperation can provide and thus use it to motivate young people to move in a direction where they think about collective good and not individual benefit.

Further, another important factor in leadership is to lead by helping and not stepping on people. For instance, in industry and cooperations where people help each other develop skills to work towards the common goal of taking the company forward succeed better than the ones who do not do the same. There is a concept of mentor-mentee in a growing number of organisations now, where the idea is to help people overcome their problems because only then will there be healthy minds to achieve the desired goals. If the employees are competitive among themselves and do not help each other then perhaps the company will not achieve the heights it could have had people been helping each other. Thus when new people join, they should be encouraged to share their skills among other members and learn what others know. .

Lastly, even though we move much farther with cooperation and not competition, some amount of healthy competition is vital for growth among people, industries and more. It provides a platform for innovation and challenges leaders to think creatively for achieving the set goals. However, just being surrounded with only unhealthy competition just leads to degraded results.

In conclusion, promoting cooperation among young people will result in upliftment of the society in return. It promotes development of society as a whole and increase share of knowledge among people thus in my opinion it is viable to make young people help and be considerate about people around them rather than be wary and compeitive.