Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

The prompt presents a complex issue of whether government officials should carry out the will of the people they serve or they should base their decisions on their own judgment. In my opinion, a government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. It should keep in mind the benefit of majority of the people without ignoring and isolating the needs for upliftment of the minorities. It is a tough spot to be in but it is what will engender growth and prosperity for a country.

Government's main agenda should be welfare of the citizen and the country, and with this idea a democratically elected goverment or other kinds of goverment should keep notice of the demands and needs of the people they are serving. This ensures justice by the people, builds trust among the people and the government and provides guidance to the government on how it can better serve the public. For instance, in India, the recent farm bill is a perfect example of government responding to the will of the farmers in India. The farmers have long complained about exploitation and unfair treatment by officials in the regulated 'mandi' market model that has existed for over 70 years. The ruling government at the moment has responded to that and introduced a free market for the farmers in an attempt to give them the power to set their own price. Another example, of government responding to the will of the people is death sentence of three rapists in the Nirbhaya Rape case, 2012. A gruesome rape case which shocked the entire country. The citizens took to streets to demand justice from the supreme court and recently responding to the what is right and the will of the people, the three rapists were sentenced to death. These couples of examples depict how when the government responds to the will of the people it is about providing them with better platform for their upliftment either in business or in morale. Afterall, human resource is the biggest resource a government has and it needs to build that trust with the citizens as well as provide them further resources that will in turn benefit the country in terms of increased prodcutivty and gross domestic product.

However, sometimes just considering the will of the people can be dangerous. As at times, it is possible that the what the will of the majority of people is in fact what is harmful for the country. To illustrate this, Babri-Masjid demolition case in India is a perfect example. Since 1991, people have been arguing to build a Ram temple where Babri Masjid stood as it is supposedly the birth place of Lord Ram. For decades, this issue has the fueled propoganda of Right wing party such as Bharitya Janta Party (BJP) who openely support hinduism and the ideology of hindutva. The party in its manifesto for 2014 elections promised to deliver Ram temple, and in 2020 it has delivered much to the cheer of the majority of citizens in India who follow Hinduism. However, this party has gone further in eradicting the existence of muslim people in the country through various amendments like the citizenship amendment act which very strategically, declares muslims as second class citizen. India, a secular nation is going through changes which both the party and majority people are cheering alongside but it deterimental for the muslim minortiy. This shows how sometimes just following the will of the majority feeds nothing but propoganda and in such situations the government officials should think for themselves and base their decisons on their own judgment without any selfish motive behind it.

In conclusion, governments should evaluate situations thoroughly and come to a decision using their judgment which serves the the people and increases their welfare. It should keep in consideration every citizen in the country and eventually do everything in their power to serve them humbly.