"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The memo from an advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company contends that advertising is the main culprit in declining attendance to the studio's movies, forgoing other possible explanations. Several questions would need to be answered first before laying the blame at advertising. These would include what were the movie attendance numbers for other studios, whether movie-goers are motivated to watch the movie in the theater based on advertising, or whether there has been a general shift in attitudes from appreciating critically-approved art in favor of formulaic and hackneyed productions.

The decline in ticket sales for this production company's movies might possibly correlate with declining sales for all competing films in this period. The advertising director did not consider if there has been an economic downturn that left most people with less disposable income to go to the movies. In addition, moviegoers might have opted to stream media at-home using services this company does not support. Besides streaming, illegal downloads are also a factor this executive did not consider, and this activity is responsible for all studios losing profit as this option did not exist to consumers pre-internet, and paying hard-earned cash was literally the only option to enjoy these pieces of entertainment.

Movies that are well-reviewed are not necessarily ones that would capture the audience's attention, whether they received proper advertising or not. The tastes of critics are, in fact, usually not synonymous with what the audience likes. To give an example of this, if you were to look at the list of Oscar-contenders and winners every year, they would rarely feature the highest-grossing movies in terms of ticket sales. Formulaic, repetitive stories are not frowned upon by the general audience but are rarely given five-start reviews by critics. Examples of which are cartoony action movies, or dumb slapstick comedies, all of which generate hundreds of millions of profits to studios in some cases.

To conclude, the advertising director ignores asking pertinent questions before hastily jumping to the conclusion that the ad budget is increased. The director is clearly biased in this regard, and does not consider economic factors for the decline in profit for the production company, nor does not measure the attitudes of the very audience he is attempting to cater to. Movie-goer tastes are easily quantifiable via audience reviews and internet forums or directed surveys, and that should have been the first question for this company's executives to address instead of having this memo be sent.