A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The notion that states should enforce standard curricula for their populace is the center of some contention. There are multiple angles to address this proposal: an authoritarian outlook that is supported by ideas of unity and cultural homogeneity within the citizenry is being adopted in various regimes around the world; whereas countries that tout individualism will see the former as an affront to even basic human rights. It is clear from empirical data surrounding rates of success in business, academia, and cultural output; that not mandating a uniform curriculum is the consensus model for successful nations in the modern age. This essay will attempt to elucidate the reasons why.

To begin with formulating the financial strength of a country when its nationals are allowed to venture into unrestricted domains in their academic career, we need look no further than the contrast between the GDPs of first- and third-world countries. In first-world countries, where government does not insert itself in the market in any form, the standard of living is generally higher. Schools are unrestrained in this regard, and students of superior intellect can study extra-carricular activities, advance quicker than their peers, or even take college classes years before their peers! If this freedom were not allowed in capitalist countries, I believe they would not have developed so greatly compared to centrally-planned economies.

To make a second point about freedoms to choose ones subjects of study, international prizes in literature and art have almost always gone to recipients who developed their intellectual curiosity at a strikingly young age. Rote learning can not possibly produce the great thinkers of the world who generate transformative art. States with national curricula like China, Iran, or Saudi Arabia are more concerned with maintaining a national identity than developing a thriving intellectual elite, especially is those intellectual seek to produce work that threatens its very existence. This fear is not seen in countries without a national curricula like the United States or the United Kingdom.

To sum up, while this issue will continue to be debate for years to come, as the science and economics of the matter will likely not be settled any time soon, I believe the aforementioned arguments are sufficient to discourage the notion of a standard curriculum for school student. It is certain that proponents of this measure will cite reasons pertaining to government regulation being the standard bearer to guide a unifying vision for the country, this argument is moot when talking about individual pupipls, as their intellectual curiosity can ever thrive under regulation.