Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

The belief of the inherent value of cooperation vs competition in young adults is a subject of great debate. What these values promote in terms of success in the professional environment is a different issue to what they instill as a sense of well-being, belonging, or purpose in life. While industry or government sectors are led by usually cut-throat, careerist personalities; society at large would not be served well to promote competitive values as they are dangerous for the sense of connection people have with each other, in addition to their indirect deleterious effect on the earth's ecosystem.

Humans are social animals. Science has shown that endorphins and dopamine chemicals, which are linked to motivation and finding purpose, arise as a result of positive social interaction. Certainly, a sense of euphoria is achieved after beating your competition; but that feeling is addictive and short-lived. When we observe the list of the highest-income business leaders, they are no longer motivated by money but by the achievement in conquering yet more markets and raising their stock prices, and they are not the happier for it. On the other hand, people of modest income can experience a significant sense of satisfaction not by beating the competition, but rather by philanthropy and volunteering.

Society would be served well to promote policies that conserve the earth's climate, ecosystem, and flora and fauna. These are broad categories and are not immediately connected to societal values yet it is precisely the lack of concern with our non-replenishable resources, that can lead society, and the entire globe at large, to a dangerous and precarious path. Entrepreneurs and politicians, both indoctrinated in the hypothetical society that rising GDP and economic prowess of a nation is paramount, above-all-else, could not see the looming dangers of climate change and destruction of earth's resources if it hit them in the face. Conversely, a society that favored cooperation, connectivity, and sharing resources would see that our very own survival is far more important than being the first or most popular in our given field.

In conclusion, one cannot simply point to the latest technological advance, or the charisma and acumen of certain political leaders, and not consider that putting these things on a pedestal without looking at their accompanying side effects is misguided. We need not rush to instill in our young people a sense of competition above cooperation, because when this generation grows up to become the leaders and decision-makers of our nation, they will see decisions affecting the common good low on their priority list. I contend that cooperation is inherent in our makeup as human beings as is the value that will help us overcome challenges facing the entire globe, together.