"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This memo addressed from a business manager to his or her staff is concerned with pieces of data about viewership complaints and decline in adverstivers. It was hypothesized in the memo that in order to assuage viewer complaints, and to restore advertising to previous levels, the station must recalibrate it attention toward weather and local news. This argument forgets to investigate other reasons that would explain this recent trend, which could be explained by the quality of the recent coverage of weather and local news rather than the quantity. In addition, advertising is not specifically mentioned to have been cancelled because of the reasons the station manager proposes and could be explained by reasons relating to the quality or sensitive topics addressed in the program. These reasons will be explained in detail.

Firstly, while the station has devoted less attention to local and weather, this need not have been the sole reason for the viewership complaints. It is possible that staffing and budget in their production have rendered this segment of the program to a much less enticing product than could have been the case. With greater attention to detail and production value, weather and local news could receive fair coverage and would be satisfactory to viewers, if given the proper respect. Without a doubt, when the station gets its coverage of local events wrong the average viewer is in a much greater position to understand that the station made a mistake, compared to say, international news.

With regards to the decline in advertising as mentioned by the station manager, it is not specifically stated that cancellations that were acknowledged in the memo are a direct result of the change in the attention given to weather and local news coverage. Businesses could have decided to cancel given recent inappropriate news coverage of the station that could a been deemed offensive in nature or was relating to taboo issues. It is widely known that businesses are quick to pull out these scenarios because it is their interest to reach the widest segment of the population possible. Another reason for businesses to discontinue advertising with the TV station is because they have moved their ad budget online.

To sum up, I believe the TV station manager is in error to come to this swift conclusion, without looking at counter-arguments to their thesis. Before taking further steps that would shape the future direction of the station and its employees, he or she should the issue further. Devoting time to increasing coverage of local and weather, when that would not alleviate profit deficit as a result of advertisers canceling their contracts would be an imprudent sunk cost.