The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness, that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that the quality of their movie is intact and the reason for the decrease in the number of viewers is because of the lack of awareness of the people. And he suggests to allocate more money in advertising in the next year's budget. However, at first his claims seem very promising but the claims he is making, arises some questions, if not answered, the persuasiveness of the suggestion will be lost.

First of all, were the reports generated in a systematic manner? what if the report is done on the basis of a survey that is conducted only in the weekdays? The director assuming that the report is representative of the total number of people that actually come to watch the movies. However, this could be wrong. The report may have been created to deliberately show that there is a paucity in the number of spectators. Maybe the data was collected for the weekdays only and weekends were not taken into considerations to make the numbers seem lower. Therefore, it is possible that there aren't any discrepancies in the number of viewers from other years to this year and people are still watching the movies being well aware of the facts.

Secondly, does the percentage increase represent the actual number of people who reviewed the movie positively? A percent increase or decrease does not varify the real value of increase of decrease. It is possible that the positive reviews were already very low like one or two. And this year there has been one more review and the increase might jump to 100%. But this is not at all an indication that the quality of the movie is not dropped. Before assuming that the quality of the movies is the same, this question should be answered and the actual number of increase should be provided with the report.

Finally, how is it so clear that the reviews are not reaching out to the prospective spectators? Maybe the reviews are getting attention from the people but they do not trust the source at all. Maybe they know that the reviews of the movie reviewers are not entirely unbiased, and prefer the reviews of a fellow spectator more. That is why, they are not coming to the movies knowing that it is actually the quality of the movies that has degraded over the past year. The director, before making any such claim mentioned above could conduct a survey on the people of the area asking about their preference and opinions about the movie. And then, he can make better claims and suggestions about the next year's budget.

To conclude, the director makes some pretty good points on his behalf, but also arises the questions mentioned already. And, without answering those question it is hardly possible to make a compelling case about the budget allocation on the advertising department of Super Screen Movie Production Company.