Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The author gave an opinion about space flight. He explicitly suggested that more and more money and resources should be spent on unmanned missions because these missions have provided relatively better results than manned missions have. However, the author's recommendation stands on three unwarranted assumptions that he took, and without giving some clear basis to them the recommendation will not hold water.

Firstly, the author assumes that only the manned space flight is costly and dangerous but he did not provide any evidences to support his claim. But, it is possible that the manned mision costs even lower than the unmanned flight. For example, if there is no human being present inside the flight there should be a lot of technology embedded with the spaceship to gather information about the targetted outer space automatically. Placing some experienced and skilled people inside the ship could save a copious amount of money and the time to build those special and intricate machinery stated before. So, without the relevent data it is impossible to make sure that the cost only increases with humans inside the flight.

Secondly, the author assumes that the recent success of some missions are representative of all the missions that had been conducted in the history of mankind. Before making any decision, we need to know about the missions that were carried out prior to these recent years. It could be be possible that in those endeavours having people inside the flight made more promising results than not having anyone inside. We have seen man landing on the moon nearly 50 years ago and it was a giant leap in the history of space travel. It is not fair to reach a conclusion without considering these kinds of missions as well where manned flight gave a lot of inspiration and encouragement in aeronautics expedition.

Finally, the author assumes that unmanned space operation may have gathered a great deal of info. However, science doesn't take anything for enough. The main goal of science is to imvestigate and go beyond. And manned mission might bring about a lot of better results than those unmanned flight. Even if there is a risk, there are people who would give their life away to know the truth about space. One day we might have to migrate to a new planet when earth becomes inhabitable for us. Is unmanned mission is going to provide good results on that too? The author should shine some light in this fact too that unmanned missions are as equally concilatory as manned mission to make his recommendation more persuassive.

To conclude, the author gave his opinion on some data and logics that seems very promising but lacks the evidence and foundation to make some claims on which the opinion depends. By providing more background information on the above mentioned assumptions, he can make his opinion more challenging and robust.