The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is very important for the prosperity of any government, industry or other field as well. And that is why, this character is needed to be cultivated in the youth of the soceity. The prompt suggests that the importance of cooperation is more demanding than competition. However, I mostly diagree with this view for two reasons and do concede that in some circumstances cooperation is as equal vital as competition.

First of all, competing mentality makes people work harder and harder, and surpass all his peers to go at the top. And this mentality is needed to make the manpower of a society more skilled and hungry for success. For example, all the examinations that are held in the country are competitive and the exams for the most demanding jobs are even more competitive. In any work environment there is competition between the employees for getting a promotion. As the country cannot provide the same job to all the candidates, the company cannot promote all its employees at once. Because of this, competition is inborn between the students as well as the employees for achieving their goal. And doing so, the company gets the more skilled and hard working person in the upper management position and the country gets the more meritorious student to come work for the most demanding job field ensuring a better leader for the next generation.

Secondly, if there is no competition among the candidates, it is highly unlikely that one is going to find the perfect leader among those candidates. If we randomly assign someone as the leader of a country its not going to bring good results at all. That is why, in selecting a leader for the government, there is always competition in the name of election. The candidates have to work on their moral character as well as people skill and be better than the other competing candidate to draw attention of the citizens of the country and prevail in the election. In addition, without any examination if we promote the students to the next class, it is dubious that they will study at all now. Because of the free promotion, they will be more congent to amuse themselves in other works. Therefore, an election provides a chance for choosing a better leader by making the leaders compete among themselves and an exam finds out the elligible student to have promoted into the next class.

However, cooperation is also needed. In some case people need to be able to distinguish between their own team members than other. For instance, a successful movement will only occur when there is cooperation between the protesters. If they start to compete themselves, the protest will perish inevitably. So, youth should be also taught about the manners of cooperation as well so that when they are under the perfect leader they should listen to his advice and act accordingly. In short, a person should understand when to compete or with whom to compete as well as when it is time to cooperate also.

In colclusion, society neeeds competitions to create better leaders by forcing them to develop their character in the process. But they should also be taught about the virtue of cooepration by disregarding own self interest when the time comes.