The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

In the memo, the author concludes that in order to increase the attendance of people for Super Screen-produced movies a greater share should be allocated to their marketing team. The author arrives at this conclusion based on the evidence of low number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies even though a positive feedback of the movies are received. While the claim drawn by the author might ultimately prove valid, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus the following three question needs to be answered to bolster the validity of the argument.

First of all, what is the percentage increase of positive reviews from previous year? Perhaps last year there were hundred positive reviews and this year they have increased to 'one hundred and ten' reviews. Therefore, the positive reviews although increased by 'ten' are not enough to conclude that there is nothing wrong with the quality of Super Screen movies. It is possible that percentage of positive reviews are increased but the percentage of negative reviews have also increased from previous years. If the above is true, then the author's conclusion does not hold water.

Second of all, what is the market reach of Super Screen-produced movies? Perhaps the people who are interested in watching their movies have reached to the limit and there are less number of people who are inclined to watch Super Screen movies. Furthermore, if we advertise these movies through television and social media it will not help as people who are interested in Super Screen movies have reached to a point where it cannot be increased further even with a strong marketing plan. If the above scenario holds merit, then the author's conclusion of increasing advertisement is significantly weakened.

Lastly, what other factors can be productive other than advertisement? There is a possibility that people are aware of the movies but because of their unattractive teaser and poster they think that movie must not be good. Thus the current level of marketing is enough just the producers needs to enhance and decorate the current posters and movie teasers. Perhaps by doing so people will be tending to watch Super Screen movies more than before. If the above reason hold validity, then the author's argument to allocate greater share to marketing is rife with holes and assumptions.

In conclusion, while the author might not be evaluating the given situation regarding the increase of budget for advertisement in its entirety, the information and conclusion associated with it cannot be written off either. There is no smoke without fire and the author must have had compelling reasons to make such a strong conclusion, however, since the reasons have not been listed here, the argument as it stands cannot be said holistically. Answers for the above questions needs to be provided to make the argument hold water.