The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has tried to depict in the memo of Super Screen Movie Production Company that poor public relations and improper promotion of movies are the main reasons for the failure of their movies in recent past. But only the gap between the movie reviewer and public may not be the only reason for their failure. Some few questions also needed to be answered before adopting these recommendations.

The production company must review what amount of budget was allocated for awareness of their movies among public in last few years. The author has written that there was a good number of people in screening of their movies in other years than last year. It must be considered whether the same budget for film promotion was allocated in last year than other years or some less budget is allocated. If the same budget is allocated, then it may happen that the ways of marketing were improper in last year rather than a shortage of money.

It may happen that movie reviewers were biased in last year. They have taken some money from the production house for writing a positive review. So, though they have written a positive review, people were not liking their movie and bad words about movies were spread through words of mouth among viewers like a forest fire.

Sometimes it also happens movies from a specific production house were screened in odd hours such as early morning or late night. That's why people avoided these movies. It may also happen that release dates of major movies from Super Screen Movie Production Company were clashed with some high profile and high budget movies. These leads to neglection of their movies by the public.

We should also pay attention to the star cast in major roles of the movies from this specific production house. If their movies lack superstars or famous actors in their movies in past year than other years, it may lead to a poor box office collection.

So, at the end, we can conclude that only public's lack of awareness is may not be the main reason for the failure of Super Screen Movie Production Company. There may be some other reasons which played against them. So, one should also consider above aspects before taking a decision about next year's movie production and promotion plan.