The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A group of developers have asked for a loan with the hopes to create a jazz music club. They stated that implementing a jazz club would be very profitable to the city of Monroe for multiple reasons. The new jazz club in Monroe would not have any competitors near by. They also mentioned that jazz is very popular in Monroe; there is an annual jazz festival that brings in 100,000 people, and the jazz radio station was deemed the highest rated. The final thing they stated was the fact that the average jazz fan spends $1,000 a year for entertainment. However, the proposed statements above require 2 pieces of evidence in order for their plead to be more valid.

First of all, there needs to be some data on how many people of the 100,000 attendees of the music festival were actually from the city of Monroe. Hypothetically, it is possible that most, if not all, of the people who attended Monroe’s jazz festival were actually from a different city. Popular festivals have been known to attract people from all across the US in recent years. For example, Wefest is a popular festival in Minnesota and it brings in people from all over the Midwest (not just Minnesota). If all of the people that attended the Monroe jazz festival were from different cities, then that would weaken the claim that jazz is popular. Furthermore, if the majority of the 100,000 attendees were actually from Monroe that number would then need to be compared to Monroe’s population. It is possible that the city of Monroe has a couple million people located within and around the city. This would also weaken the claim, due to the fact that the festival could only a small fraction of the population of Monroe.

Secondly, there needs to be evidence on if the Monroe individuals, that are jazz fans, can be compared to the typical fan that spends a great deal of money on entertainment. The Monroe jazz fans could very well be modest spenders when it comes to jazz. Like prior stated, the jazz radio station is rated the highest, and that could mean that fans would much rather listen to jazz on the radio for free compared to going to a $30 music festival. The developers also mentioned that the C-Note would be the only jazz club located within the market. This means that there was not a jazz club prior, and there may not be a lot of information on how much people spend on jazz entertainment in Monroe, other than the data from the music festival. Without this data, the Monroe fans could be parsimonious when it comes to spending money on jazz entertainment rather than an ideal spendthrift fan. If the above situations are true of the jazz fans of Monroe, then the argument made by the developers does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument by the developers, as it stands, requires more evidence. There are multiple assumptions that would need to be proven, possibly through a data analysis of some sort, in order for it to be considered a valid issue. If the assumptions can be backed up with information on the music festival and the jazz fans of Monroe, then a proper evaluation can be made in favor of building jazz club.