Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason: People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The success of a business relies on both imagination as well as experience; an individual must first come up with an idea that jumpstarts their road to success, and then they must build around that by gaining new experiences to become more knowledgable in their desired field. The prompt recommends that imagination has a higher value than experiences, due to the fact that experience diminishes the effect on what they might think is possible. I strongly disagree with this statement and argue that experience trumps imagination for 2 reasons.

To begin, most companies require experiences, not imagination, as a prerequisite for a desired job. For example, doctors are required to attend a college for atleast eight years. Within these 8 years an individual will learn an immense amount of information. A person can not apply to be a doctor without the certification that they would get through a college degree. This is due to the fact that hospitals need someone that has enough experience in order correctly assess and diagnose a patient. Another field of practice that requires experience is an accountant, and this job also requires a certification before an individual is able to work for a company. This is because an accountant keeps track of the financial side of a company and one mistake can impact a business greatly. In both of these prior examples it is experience that is required, rather than the ability to imagine, that gets a person the job.

Secondly, imagination cannot happen without an experience that causes a new idea to form. For example, Bill Gates is thought highly for his invention of Microsoft. Although it is true that Bill Gates clearly has a great imagination, it is the experiences he went through that planted the seed in his head to create a well-known computer company. His habits of always thinking outside of the box and attitude toward his work ethic were main contributers to his success. This was shown in a past interview where he talked about how he rose to the top of the computer world. He was very intrigued about computers and the way they work which led him to pursue a dream that led to Microsoft. He stated that he was fond of computers before he created Microsoft. Which means that there were events that influenced his predilection and ultimately led to his invention of Microsoft.

In conclusion, it is logical to think that a person with experience becomes more bias towards their specific habits and attitudes compared to someone who is more imaginative and open to more possibilities. However, a person who is open to many possibilities is also bias in their own way; they can be ignorant to the fact that building off of experience, is a tantamount, possibly even better, way of logically thinking than always keeping an open mind to different possibilities. Experience is a top imagination when it comes to which is a better asset to have, and experience is what drives imagination ultimately.