Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Studying outside of your comfort zone in a foreign country has become a popular route for many college students. The prompt suggests that colleges should require students to spend at least one year studying abroad. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this recommendation and suggest that students should not study abroad for two reasons.

To begin, the idea of going to an unknown area can produce negative outcomes to towards their friendships. There have been many studies recently that have looked at the reasons for development of depression and anxiety. One study focused on the main reason why people are not happy with their lives. They looked at many individuals through a span of multiple years and asked them what they would have changed in order to make their life better. A large amount of the subjects stated that they wished they would have had a stronger foundation of friendships throughout their life. This suggests that people should be more focused on deepening their relationships rather than create new ones. When students go to a foreign country they are totally isolated from their family and friends that they grew up with. This can put a toll on many students as they end up looking for new friends in an area where they are totally unfamiliar with; this can lead to a development of anxiety and depression. The student however, might make some close friends in the short time they are there, but that will quickly end when they go back to their own country. In the end the student ends up hurting their prior relationships and ultimately wasting a semester of their life with the burden of now having to build their relationships back up.

Secondly, studying in a different environment can be a difficult task that already adds to the complexity of college itself. For example, if a student is going to a country where the spoken language deviates from their own, it can be a struggle to adjust. The student will end up spending a majority of their time trying to understand the words and fine nuances of their new teacher and classmate. This will likely effect their success in school because they may not be focused on the material they are supposed to be learning. If the student is studying abroad to specifically learn a new language, then they will fall behind in classes that they would have taken if they stayed at the college they were originally at. There also will be many distractions because the student is not used to the environment they are in so the time it takes them to adjust will just add to things they need to accomplish in the time they are.

In conclusion, although the idea of studying abroad may have some benefits for students who are willing to adjust to change, the consequences outweigh the benefits. For this reason, the recommendation for a required semester outside a student’s native country should not be recommended.